Samata Khatoon and Lorna Russell up for gongs at councillor awards

TWO Labour politicians are in the running to be the first from Camden to win ‘councillor of the year’ awards in the local government world’s annual prize-giving since 2015.

Samata Khatoon and Lorna Russell were shortlisted for the Local Government Information Unit’s C’llr Awards. They will hear whether they have won at the Guildhall on November 6. Cllr Khatoon is up for the Community Champion award, while Cllr Russell – nominated by Hampstead and Kilburn MP Tulip Siddiq – is in the Young Councillor Of The Award category.

In the unsaid game of council one-upmanship, it has been noted backstage that nobody from neighbouring Islington, Westminster, Haringey, Brent or Barnet has made the shortlists. Let’s call such commentary, healthy competition.

Cllr Blackwell, the former Labour councillor appointed by Labour mayor Sadiq Khan to be City Hall’s tech guru, won for his work in trying to get local government fit for the digital revolution in 2015. ; a taste of things to come for him. Sarah Hayward was also nominated for the ‘leader of the year’ prize the following year, but missed out on the night.


%d bloggers like this: